Experiment2501x Productions

Home of Snowcat's Film Reviews

Bewitched – Film Review October 3, 2009

Filed under: Film Reviews — snowcatsfilmreview @ 9:52 am
Films that spin-off from TV series generally leave alot to be desired, especially if they try to reboot a long dead franchise.
watching a few episodes of Bewtiched, I was fairly sure I knew the basic outline of the story, which I did. That was the story I thought Id get from this movie
that wasn’t the case, although I was pleasently surprised. The film Bewitched follows jackass, Jack Wyatt (Will Ferrell), failing movie star after his
last film bombed due to the “costume department” he tries to make his comeback in a remake of the series Bewitched,
casting a nobody as Samantha (Nicole Kiddman) to give him more screen time and a higher profile. unfortunatley, Isabel, (Samnthas real name)  is infact a
witch, who did not watch the original Bewitched as a little girl, because her ladies man father (Michael Caine) would not allow it. as usual with most
films in the “family comedy” genre low and behold Isabel and Jack fall in love, and all manor of problems arise.
after casting spells on Jack and reversing them, admitting shes a witch and the two of them realising how silly they are for judging each other, the film
reaches its end, Of course not before Steve Carells outstanding performance as Uncle Arthur. Uncle Arthur was one of the few characters I rememberd from watching
a whole 3 episodes of bewtiched, strangley enough, Steve Carell played him just the way I rememberd him being, crazy. The part of Samanthas mother Endora in the in movie
show was played by Iris Smythson (Shirley MacLaine) Who coincidently, has seems to have a secret also.
The film had a strong cast and a good story line, but something about it just drives me crazy, it was heavily criticiesd for Ferrells performance,
personally I liked it, maybe thats my inability to find fault in Ferrells work, I even thought he was good in Men Seeking Women. On the other had,
I canno’t say the same for Nicole Kidman, something about the character annoyed me, it just didn’t feel right. maybe it was the fact he character was
supposed to be exactly that of the previous Samntha, but living in the 2000’s and not the 1960’s of course maybe it was Isabels annoying friend
gladys that caused the problem. If I watch this film again, it will be for Will Ferrell and Michael Caine, who I enjoyed the performances off immensley.

Films that spin-off from TV series generally leave alot to be desired, especially if they try to reboot a long dead franchise.

watching a few episodes of Bewtiched, I was fairly sure I knew the basic outline of the story, which I did. That was the story I thought Id get from this movie,  that wasn’t the case, but I was pleasantly surprised. The film Bewitched follows jackass, Jack Wyatt (Will Ferrell), a failing movie star after his  last film bombed due to the “costume department” he tries to make his comeback with a remake of the series Bewitched,  casting a nobody as Samantha (Nicole Kiddman) to give him more screen time and a higher profile. unfortunately, Isabel, (Samantha real name)  is infact a witch, who did not watch the original Bewitched as a little girl, because her ladies man father (Michael Caine) would not allow it. as usual with most  films in the “family comedy” genre low and behold Isabel and Jack fall in love, and all manner of problems arise.

After casting spells on Jack and reversing them, admitting shes a witch and the two of them realising how silly they are for judging each other, the film reaches its end, Of course not before Steve Carell’s outstanding performance as Uncle Arthur. Uncle Arthur was one of the few characters I remember from watching a whole 3 episodes of Bewitched, strangely enough, Steve Carell played him just the way I remembered him, crazy. The part of Samantha’s mother Endora in the in movie show was played by Iris Smythson (Shirley MacLaine) Who coincidently  seems to have a secret to.

The film had a strong cast and a good story line, but something about it just drives me crazy, it was heavily criticised for Ferrells performance,  personally I liked it, maybe thats my inability to find fault in Ferrells work, I even thought he was good in Men Seeking Women. On the other had,  I cannot say the same for Nicole Kidman, something about the character annoyed me, it just didn’t feel right. maybe it was the fact her character was  supposed to be exactly that of the previous Samntha, but living in the 2000’s and not the 1960’s of course maybe it was Isabels annoying friend Gladys that caused the problem. If I watch this film again, it will be for the performances of Will Ferrell and Michael Caine, who made the film enjoyable to watch.

 

Leave a Reply

